Signal & Telecommunication


History Of Myanma Railways

      Rail transport was first introduced in Myanmar in May 1877 when Lower Burma was a British colony with the opening of the 163-mile (262 km) Yangon to Pyay line by The Irrawaddy Valley State Railway.

In 1884, a new company, The Sittang Valley State Railway, opened a 166-mile (267 km) line along the Sittaung River from Yangon to the town of
Taungoo via Bago.
After the annexation of Upper Burma following the Third Anglo-Burmese War of 1885, the British extended the Taungoo line to Mandalay, the fallen capital, by 1889.
Following the opening of this section, the Mu Valley State Railway was formed and construction began on a railway line from Mandalay to Myitkyina in 1898. Mandalay to Lashio and Thazi to Shwe Nyaung.
The railway's reach to the Taninthayi coast first came in 1907 with the opening of the Bago-Ye line.
After Myanmar gained independence from the UK in 1948, the rail network was rebuilt. By 1961 the network extended to 3,020 km (1,877 mi).
In 1884, a new company, The Sittang Valley State Railway, opened a 28.0-mile (45.9 km) line along the Yangon sub urban,
known as Yangon circular line. In 1961, Yangon circular line up grade to double track.
In 1951, Yangon to Pyinmana rail line was up graded to double track and in 2008, Yangon to Mandalay rail line was up graded to double track.
The first phase of the overall project of Muse-Lashio-Kyaukphyu is from Muse to Lashio in Shan state  which stretches as 126 kilometers with 41 big and small bridges, 36 tunnels and seven railway stations to be added along the route.
Myanma Railways Network
    (Double truck)
Yangon – Napyitaw – Mandalay    -   620 Km
(Single truck)
Mandalay – Myitkyina                  -  552 Km
Yangon – Pyay                            -  257 Km
Yangon circular line                     -  47   Km
and 10 branch feeder lines.
Total track length      -  5884.032 Km
Total stations            -  926   




Organization Of Myanma Railways



Classify Of Signalling system
Main Events Of Yangon Station
1950 First All Relay Interlocking (ARI) system in Yangon  station by Westing House) 
Classify of signalling system
         Class A - Colour light signal
A1.A -  Colour light signal controlled by Computer Base Interlocking(CBI).
          One station
A1.B -  Colour light signal (Solid State Interlocking - SSI)
          Six stations
          Laydaungan – Phayathonzu
          (Under installation)
      A1.C  - Colour light signal controlled by all relay interlocking(ARI).
             Total -  Thirty three stations-
             (1)  Yangon (1950 - Westing House)
             (2)  Taungoo (1961 - Kyosan)
             (3)  Pyinmana (1960 - Kyosan)
             (4)  Thazi (1963 - Kyosan)
             (5)  Mandalay (1964 - Kyosan)
             (6)  Danyingon (1970 - Siemens)
             (7)  Pazundaung (1970 - Siemens)
             (8)  Mahlwagon (1970 - Siemens)
             (9)  Thingangun (1970 - Siemens)
            (10) Insein (1994 - Goldstar)
            (11) Toegaungalay (1994 - Goldstar)
                  Shwehle - Thaungdaingo Section (2003 - China)
A2 -   Colour light singal controlled by mechanical interlocking.
          Two stations
          (1)     Kyimyindaing(1950)
          (2)     Myohaung(1967)

A3 -        Colour light signal controlled by automatic block system.

                1.Yangon-Kyimyindaing section.         (1950 Westing House 5.63Km)

                2.Yangon - Mahlwagon section.          (1970 Siemens 4.15 Km)

                3. Kyimyindaing - Insein section.       (1994 Goldstar 9.85Km)

                4. Mahlwagon-Paywetsategon section (1994 Goldstar 11.05Km)

Class B - Semaphore signal
    B1.A -         Semaphore signal controlled by mechanical interlocking.
          (With warner lever, outer , home platform signal and advance starter signal).
          Three stations
          1. Bago(1962)
          2. Pyuntaza(1950)
          3. Letpadang(1950)
          (Under installation)
        B1.B - Semaphore signal controlled by hand operated key locked points with motorised signal
            (working distant,outer)
            Toungoo - Paleik section
B1.C -   Semaphore signal controlled by hand operated key locked points         (Warner, outer,home)
             Fourty seven stations
            1. Bago - Mawlamyaing section
            2. Danyingon - Pyay section
            3. Amarapura - Myitkyina section
         B1.D -  Semaphore  signal controlled 
by hand operated points 
(Warner, outer) 
74 stations
Class C - Flag type(Military type)
C1.A - Station limit board , flag board 
(For the temporary stations) 
       Responsibility for construction project such as Computer Base Interlocking (CBI) at Napyitaw Station.
Telecommunication System Status


Open wired telephone line

Somebranch lines still using it.


Telephone Exchanges

EPABX (200 Lines)

Yangon railways office



EPABX (100 Lines)

Bago railways office



EPABX (100 Lines)

Nyaung Lay Bin railways office



EPABX (100 Lines)

Taungoo railways office



EPABX (700 Lines)

Naypyitaw railways office



EPABX (100 Lines)

Thazi railways office



EPABX (200 Lines)

Myitnge railways office



EPABX (200 Lines)

Mandalay railways office


Communication with radio transmission




Central train control centre,

Regional train control centres

New rail line construction sites offices

Other important stations



Yangon Circular line stations



Thazi  -  Shwe Nyaung section



Mandalay  -  Lashio section



Mandalay  -Monywa section



Pakokku  -  Ganggaw  -  Kalay section



Pyinmana  - Taungdwingyi  - Kyeeni  - Bagan section



Pathein  - Hinthada  -  Kyangin section



Mawlamying  -  Ye  - Dawai section



Khin Oo  -  Nabar section



Yangon -  Mandalay section



Bago  - Mottama  section



Nantsiaung  -  Myitkyina  section



Mandalay  -Khin Oo section


Fiber optic cable backbone

In Yangon  -  Mandalay  line (620 Km) ,

fiber optic cable (24 cores) is  laid out.

Signal and Communication Department Maintainance central area

      Responsibility for maintainance in central area 1

Divisional Engineer
Division (1,2 and10)
Head quarter  - YwaHtaung
Responsibility for maintainance in central area 2
Divisional Engineer
Division (3 and 4)
Head quarter  - Mandalay
Responsibility for maintainance in central area 3
 Divisional Engineer
Division (5 and 11)
Head quarter  - Taungoo
      Responsibility for maintainance in central area 4
Divisional Engineer
Division (6,8 and 9)
Head quarter  - Yangon
Responsibility for maintainance in central area 5
Divisional Engineer
Division ( 7 )
Head quarter  - Yangon